New remastered Charlie Parker box set coming this February

Charlie Parker

The collection will feature the saxophone legend’s recordings for the Savoy record label

A new box set presenting the seminal bebop recordings of Charlie Parker is set to be released next month.

The collection will feature sessions made by the saxophone legend from 1944 to 48 on the Savoy record label, and featuring guest appearances from the likes of Dizzy Gillespie, Miles Davis, Bud Powell and Max Roach. The collection includes newly restored and remastered audio, reproduced artwork from the original 10-inch albums, plus a digital download, a booklet containing vintage photos, rare ephemera and new liner notes from Grammy Award-winning journalist and author Neil Tesser. It ties in with the Charlie Parker’s centenary which is coming round this August.

Click here for more details and pre-order -

Track List: 

New Sounds In Modern Music, Volume 1

Side A
1. Now's The Time
2. Donna Lee
3. Chasin’ The Bird
4. Red Cross

Side B
1. Ko-Ko
2. Warmin’ Up A Riff
3. Half Nelson
4. Sipping At Bells

New Sounds In Modern Music, Volume 2

Side A
1. Billie's Bounce
2. Cheryl
3. Milestones
4. Another Hair-Do

Side B
1. Thriving From A Riff
2. Buzzy
3. Little Willie Leaps
4. Klaunstance

New Sounds In Modern Music, Volume 3

Side A
1. Bluebird
2. Bird Gets The Worm
3. Parker's Mood

Side B
1. Steeplechase
2. Perhaps
3. Tiny's Tempo

New Sounds In Modern Music, Volume 4

Side A
1. Constellation
2. Merry Go Round
3. Confirmation

Side B
1. Barbados
2. Ah-Leu-Cha
3. Marmaduke

More from Music News